You’re In The Military Now. – On My!!

Guest Blogger – Doris Rivas-Brekke

I remember the day well, as if it were yesterday; the bus had just arrived for my basic training destination, Fort McClellan, Alabama. The year was 1975 and I was in the Army now…what had I done?! The original California Girl, tanned, party girl and hip hugger pants, was now in the deep South, nowhere land, with a ton of luggage; well prepared for future parties that might occur on the base…I get off the bus and try to retrieve my luggage.

Two men in uniforms look at me strangely when I ask for my bags. They ask me which are my bags and I point “all” of them out and they look at each other, shake their heads and look at me and tell me I won’t be needing them. I am like totally confused and ask them why, what, and how is this happening??? They just kind of laugh and say that the military will supply all my needs while I am there…

The tears welled up in my eyes and they could care less…I thought I was going to be sick and there was nowhere to turn for comfort… I knew I had made a big mistake and I did not know how to get out of this situation…I wish I could tell you that things got better; they did eventually, but things got worst before they got better…

I am here to share my story and what I have learned in my years of service in the United States Army Medical Corps and beyond. Once I knew I was here to stay with “Uncle Sam” , I decided I wanted to get the most out of my new career. I chose to do the best that I could for the service and my country. I hope to share the good, the bad and the ugly of my experiences and pass along tips that may help all of you on how to maneuver through the ups and downs of being a woman in the military…CHARGE!!

My name is Doris Rivas-Brekke. I served in the U.S. Army as a mental health counselor in the medical corps. Using my military benefits I went on to achieve my Bachelor of Arts in Psychology. I am currently creative director for Military Mom Talk Radio.

2 thoughts on “You’re In The Military Now. – On My!!

Leave a Reply

