Life Leadership: Failing Forward

By Sandra Beck, Military Mom Talk Radio 

Life Leadership by Sandra Beck Military Mom Talk RadioIf there is one thing I know how to do well it’s how to fail. I have failed at marriage, failed at investments, failed at parenting and failed at being myself when I really needed to count on someone!  I think that if someone were to write a book about my life it would be titled Failing Forward. 

We all make mistakes. We all make bad choices.  We all do things that minutes, weeks or years later we shake our heads and ask ourselves what were we thinking.  I learned this lesson the hard way when I first agreed to host Military Mom Talk Radio. I was flattered and excited, but terrified.  I’m not a military mom or a military wife.  I have been a military girlfriend, a military contractor and a military buddy. What do I know about leading women into the next generation of military service? 

What I learned from my first two stilted, stunted and incredibly boring first shows was that I needed to try. I needed to demonstrate the flexibility, growth, strength and resiliency of our military families to keep going and serve in the capacity in which I was trained and chosen to do.  

Thank God for 1st Sgt Mike Hoffman from Wounded Warriors Battalion West who told me “Girl, just put on your big girl boots, march forward and figure it out. And if need be, don’t forget to advance in a different direction.” 

I went into this new avenue in my life thinking about how much I could teach the military family about life leadership and learned the most important lesson of all.  The only people who truly fail are those who give up. Then the future is certain. I have been on the air for almost two years and the guests that come on are amazing – much more amazing than I could ever hope to be.

I am going to share with you all that I have learned in a series of blog for Shining Service called Life Leadership. As always, I am proud to serve. 

Sandra Beck is the host of Military Mom Talk Radio and the single mother of two boys ages 5 and 8.  She is an author, internet brand strategist and speaker. She has worked with the United States Navy, Marine Corps and Army for over 20 years and is passionate about helping women lead their families successfully the specific challenges of military life.

Leave a Reply

